Victorian Max Fricke last night scored a major win at round 3 of the Australian Senior Solo Speedway Championships at Undera Speedway banking vital points to now lead the championship.

In front of a strong crowd under blue skies, fans were treated to some of the best racing seen in the championship so far on the technical track.

The fastest four of the night – Max Fricke, Rohan Tungate, Brady Kurtz and Chris Holder put on an epic final race, with Fricke jumping to an early lead and was never really challenged.

Tungate, Kurtz and Holder were within a bike length of each other throughout the race as they tussled for the minor placings, with Tungate taking second, Kurtz third and Holder fourth.

“Nice to get a win here for the third round of the Australian solo championships,” Fricke said after the final.

“I’m off to a good start and hopefully I can carry that form through.”

The win for Fricke gives him a narrow 6 point (37 points) lead over Tungate (31 points) and Jaimon Lidsey (31 points), with Brady Kurts, Chris Holder and Jack Holder on 25 points each.

Riders now move onto Olympic Park Speedway, Mildura tomorrow night for round four of the Australian Senior Solo Speedway Championship.

The Undera crowd also managed to raise just under $1300 for the CFA Bushfire Appeal.

Semi 1PtsSemi 2PtsFinalPts
M Fricke3R Tungate3M Fricke3
J Lidsay1B Kurtz2C Holder0
S Masters0Z Cook0R Tungate1
C Holder2J Holder1B Kurtz2